L is for Loch Ness Monster

The series continues:

The palette here is a tad “My Little Pony,” but I like it. I’m especially proud of the teeming ocean. Something about the octopus bothers me, though. He throws off the balance of the page somehow. Color-wise? size-wise? I don’t know.

A “fun” fact about Plesiosaurs (which actually destroys the cherished, iconic image of them that I retain from childhood ) is that they couldn’t actually hold their heads up swan-style like I’ve drawn.* Pretty crazy how many books get it wrong, huh?

On top of that, even the bus-sized plesiosaurs probably never ate anything more than a foot or two long. Their mouths could only open something like eight inches wide, so they probably just preyed on schools of small fish (which they did stealthily, but very slowly).

What all of this adds up to is that those long-necked lake monsters people claim to spot could be anything but incredibly discreet and long-lived plesiosaurs.

So, yeah, pretty dispiriting set of facts. Also, not at all conducive to cool drawings either.

*Apparently sauropods (apatosaurus, brachiosaurus, etc.) couldn’t do it either. That standard Sinclair station pose was anatomically impossible to strike. Basically those guys were just giant lawnmowers.

4 Responses to “L is for Loch Ness Monster”

  1. *laughs* Thanks for the dinosaur lesson! But wow, this turned out fantastic. You should seriously be proud of what you’ve done here. You’ve definitely pushed your coloring to a new level and hey, maybe over the millions of years the lake monsters have been hiding out they’ve evolved to strike those fierce poses?

  2. re the octopus:

    He looks (to me) like he as to pee and is holding is pants little-kid style. To use theater terminology, he’s pulling focus from the main scene. But maybe that’s just me speaking from a life full of kids who have to pee and scenes where i pulled focus?

  3. sadblonde Says:

    Aw, I love your Lochness Monster. He’s absolutely lovely. His droopy eyelids and little frown make the entire picture for me. And as for the octopus, I don’t think that it offsets anything. You have a jellyfish on the other side who stands out quite a bit more so I think they equal each other out. :) (And thank-you for ruining dinosaurs for me.)

  4. […] inert. If I had to do it again, I’d go with stylized waves like I did in my Lady Liberty or Loch Ness Monster drawings. Still, I’ve got a compulsive commitment to simple shapes and solid fields, so […]

Leave a Reply

