M is for Mothman

I’m pretty proud of this design and am glad that I varied my pallet a little bit. The Mothman would have looked fine in purple and yellow, but I’ve been doing a lot of that lately. Thankfully, Lena believed in these colors when I was waffling.

My Mothman bears little resemblance to an actual moth or to the “real” Mothman, who’s sort of shaggy, owly, and monochromatic.

I have a lot more to say, but, for better or worse, none of it has anything to do with the Mothman. Someday soon I should be posting a long and (long overdue) entry about the fantastic weekend I had a couple of weeks ago. It was the best and busiest comics weekend I’ve ever had, with PIX, the Charlotte Arts Catalyst coloring book show, and a (positive!) Mockingbird review in The Comics Journal all falling across a very full 48 hours! Today, however is not that day. In short, I’m doing great and am glad to be drawing monsters again!

Leave a Reply

